The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
    McNeese State University
   
 
  Nov 24, 2017
 
 
    
2012-2013 Academic Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Fees and Expenses (All Fees are Subject to Change)


Click on any of the following links for information:



Application Fee

^ TOP

A nonrefundable application fee of $20 for United States students and $30 for international students will be assessed to each person making application for admission or readmission to McNeese State University. Application fees are approved by the University of Louisiana System Board of Supervisors.

Registration Fees

^ TOP

Registration fees are determined for each student by number of credit hours or noncredit hours carried each semester or summer session. The following fee schedules are estimates. All tuition and fees are subject to change by action of the State Legislature, the Board of Supervisors, or by student vote on special assessments.

A full-time undergraduate student for a regular semester is one taking 12 hours or more. A full-time graduate student is one taking 9 hours or more and will be assessed at the rate of a full-time undergraduate student at 12 hours. For a summer session, all students are full-time at 6 hours.

In addition to the registration fees a nonresident fee will be charged to each student classified as nonresident under the residence regulations of the University of Louisiana System rules as listed in the Academic Regulations, Determination of Residence Classification section of this catalog.

SUMMER 2012

^ TOP

Please consult the appropriate semester’s class schedule for updated fee amounts. 

Undergraduate-SUMMER 2012

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Fees Paid by TOPS

Not Paid by TOPS

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

0

579.75

0

579.75

579.75

1

0

584.75

0

584.75

584.75

2

0

599.75

0

599.75

599.75

3

0

614.75

0

614.75

614.75

4

0

785.00

0

785.00

785.00

5

0

945.25

0

945.25

945.25

6

0

1,115.50

0

1,115.50

1,115.50

7

0

1,275.75

2,425.50

3,701.25

1,275.75

8

0

1,436.00

2,822.50

4,258.50

1,436.00

9

0

1,596.25

3,219.50

4,815.75

1,596.25

10

0

1,756.50

3,616.50

5,373.00

1,756.50

11

0

1,916.75

4,013.50

5,930.25

1,916.75

12

0

2,077.00

4,411.00

6,488.00

2,077.00

13

0

2,082.00

4,411.00

6,493.00

2,082.00

14

0

2,087.00

4,411.00

6,498.00

2,087.00

15

0

2,092.00

4,411.00

6,503.00

2,092.00

16

0

2,097.00

4,411.00

6,508.00

2,097.00

17

0

2,102.00

4,411.00

6,513.00

2,102.00

18

0

2,107.00

4,411.00

6,518.00

2,107.00

19

0

2,112.00

4,411.00

6,523.00

2,112.00

20 & above

0

2,117.00

4,411.00

6,528.00

2,117.00

    

Graduate-SUMMER 2012

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Assessed Fees

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

579.75

0

579.75

579.75

1

614.75

0

614.75

614.75

2

659.75

0

659.75

659.75

3

704.75

0

704.75

704.75

4

900.00

2,042.50

2,942.50

900.00

5

1,090.25

2,516.00

3,606.25

1,090.25

6

1,290.50

2,989.50

4,280.25

1,290.50

7

1,633.00

3,463.50

5,096.50

1,633.00

8

1,976.50

3,937.25

5,913.75

1,976.50

9

2,319.00

4,411.00

6.730.00

2,319.00

10

2,324.00

4,411.00

6.735.00

2,324.0

11

2,329.00

4,411.00

6.740.00

2,329.00

12

2,334.00

4,411.00

6.745.00

2,334.00

13

2,339.00

4,411.00

6.750.00

2,339.00

14

2,344.00

4,411.00

6.755.00

2,344.00

15

2,349.00

4,411.00

6.760.00

2,349.00

16

2,354.00

4,411.00

6.765.00

2,354.00

17

2,359.00

4,411.00

6.770.00

2,359.00

18

2,364.00

4,411.00

6.775.00

2,364.00

19

2,149.00

4,411.00

6.780.00

2,149.00

20 & above

2,374.00

4,411.00

6.785.00

2,374.00

 

FALL 2012

^ TOP

Please consult the appropriate semester’s class schedule for updated fee amounts.  

Undergraduate-FALL 2012

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Fees Paid by TOPS

Not Paid by TOPS

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

0

759.25

0

759.25

759.25

1

0

764.25

0

764.25

764.25

2

0

783.25

0

783.25

783.25

3

0

802.25

0

802.25

802.25

4

0

1,008.25

0

1,008.25

1,008.25

5

0

1,194.25

0

1,194.25

1,194.25

6

0

1,405.25

0

1,405.25

1,405.25

7

0

1,614.25

2,530.50

4,144.75

1,614.25

8

0

1,800.25

3,032.50

4,832.75

1,800.25

9

0

1,986.25

3,534.50

5,520.75

1,986.25

10

0

2,172.25

4,036.50

6,208.75

2,172.25

11

0

2,358.25

4,538.50

6,896.75

2,358.25

12

1,873.50

670.75

5,041.00

5,711.75

2,544.25

13

1,873.50

675.75

5,041.00

5,716.75

2,549.25

14

1,873.50

680.75

5,041.00

5,721.75

2,554.25

15

1,873.50

685.75

5,041.00

5,726.75

2,559.25

16

1,873.50

690.75

5,041.00

5,731.75

2,564.25

17

1,873.50

695.75

5,041.00

5,736.75

2,569.25

18

1,873.50

700.75

5,041.00

5,741.75

2,574.25

19

1,873.50

705.75

5,041.00

5,746.75

2,579.25

20 & above

1,873.50

710.75

5,041.00

5,751.75

2,584.25

  

Graduate-FALL 2012

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Assessed Fees

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

760.00

0

760.00

760.00

1

795.00

0

795.00

795.00

2

844.00

0

844.00

844.00

3

893.00

0

893.00

893.00

4

1,119.00

2,147.25

3,266.25

1,119.00

5

1,335.00

2,726.00

4,061.00

1,335.00

6

1,576.00

3,304.75

4,880.75

1,576.00

7

1,981.50

3,883.50

5,865.00

1,981.50

8

2,364.50

4,462.25

6,826.75

2,364.50

9

2,747.25

5,041.00

7,788.25

2,747.25

10

2,756.25

5,041.00

7,797.25

2,756.25

11

2,765.25

5,041.00

7,806.25

2,765.25

12

2,774.25

5,041.00

7,815.25

2,774.25

13

2,779.25

5,041.00

7,820.25

2,779.25

14

2,784.25

5,041.00

7,825.25

2,784.25

15

2,789.25

5,041.00

7,830.25

2,789.25

16

2,794.25

5,041.00

7,835.25

2,794.25

17

2,799.25

5,041.00

7.840.25

2,799.25

18

2,804.25

5,041.00

7,845.25

2,804.25

19

2,809.25

5,041.00

7,850.25

2,809.25

20 & above

2,814.25

5,041.00

7,855.25

2,814.25

   

SPRING 2013

^ TOP

Please consult the appropriate semester’s class schedule for updated fee amounts.

  

Undergraduate-SPRING 2013

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Fees Paid by TOPS

Not Paid by TOPS

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

0

759.25

0

759.25

759.25

1

0

764.25

0

764.25

764.25

2

0

783.25

0

783.25

783.25

3

0

802.25

0

802.25

802.25

4

0

1,008.25

0

1,008.25

1,008.25

5

0

1,194.25

0

1,194.25

1,194.25

6

0

1,405.25

0

1,405.25

1,405.25

7

0

1,599.25

2,530.50

4,129.75

1,599.25

8

0

1,785.25

3,032.50

4,817.75

1,785.25

9

0

1,971.25

3,534.50

5,505.75

1,971.25

10

0

2,157.25

4,036.50

6,193.75

2,157.25

11

0

2,343.25

4,538.50

6,881.75

2,343.25

12

1,873.50

655.75

5,041.00

5,696.75

2,529.25

13

1,873.50

660.75

5,041.00

5,701.75

2,534.25

14

1,873.50

665.75

5,041.00

5,706.75

2,539.25

15

1,873.50

670.75

5,041.00

5,711.75

2,544.25

16

1,873.50

675.75

5,041.00

5,716.75

2,549.25

17

1,873.50

680.75

5,041.00

5,721.75

2,554.25

18

1,873.50

685.75

5,041.00

5,726.75

2,559.25

19

1,873.50

690.75

5,041.00

5,731.75

2,564.25

20 & above

1,873.50

695.75

5,041.00

5,736.75

2,569.25

  

Graduate-Spring 2013

(Subject to change without notice-other tuition rates and fees may apply to some professional programs.)

Credit Hours

Tuition and Assessed Fees

Out of State Fee

TOTAL Nonresident

TOTAL Louisiana Resident

0

760.00

0

760.00

760.00

1

795.00

0

795.00

795.00

2

844.00

0

844.00

844.00

3

893.00

0

893.00

893.00

4

1,119.00

2,147.25

3,266.25

1,119.00

5

1,335.00

2,726.00

4,061.00

1,335.00

6

1,576.00

3,304.75

4,880.75

1,576.00

7

1,966.50

3,883.50

5,850.00

1,966.50

8

2,349.50

4,462.25

6,811.75

2,349.50

9

2,732.25

5,041.00

7,773.25

2,732.25

10

2,741.25

5,041.00

7,782.25

2,741.25

11

2,750.25

5,041.00

7,791.25

2,750.25

12

2,759.25

5,041.00

7,800.25

2,759.25

13

2,764.25

5,041.00

7,805.25

2,764.25

14

2,769.25

5,041.00

7,810.25

2,769.25

15

2,774.25

5,041.00

7,815.25

2,774.25

16

2,779.25

5,041.00

7,820.25

2,779.25

17

2,784.25

5,041.00

7,825.25

2,784.25

18

2,789.25

5,041.00

7,830.25

2,789.25

19

2,794.25

5,041.00

7,835.25

2,794.25

20 & above

2,799.25

5,041.00

7,840.25

2,799.25

  

International Students

^ TOP

The United States Internal Revenue Service (IRS) requires McNeese State University to withhold 14 percent federal income tax from nonresident alien student scholarship awards which are designated for assistance other than tuition and fees. A student whose country of origin is tax exempt under a United States tax treaty may complete IRS form 1001. The IRS form is available through the McNeese Administrative Accounting Office located in Smith Hall.

Those international students on an F-1 student visa will also pay a special fee as follows:

$60.00-Fall $60.00-Spring $60.00-Summer

In addition to the accident and hospitalization insurance required by McNeese for all students enrolled in seven or more semester hours, international students on F and J visas are required to purchase through the university additional insurance for themselves and their dependents. The comprehensive medical insurance covers medical expenses up to $50,000, includes medical evacuation and repatriation expenses, and is underwritten by an American-based company. The insurance premium, which is subject to change, is approximately $300 per year and is assessed as part of the student fees. If, prior to enrolling at McNeese, an international student has a comprehensive medical insurance that is underwritten by an American-based company and is comparable to the insurance offered through the university, a waiver for this requirement may be requested through the International Student Affairs Officer. See the International Student Affairs Officer for more information about the insurance.

Louisiana National Guard Tuition Waiver

^ TOP

Under Louisiana Statute R. S. 29:36.1, certain members of the Louisiana National Guard may be exempted from paying the tuition portion of fees. Even with this exemption, a student must pay the special assessments for the Fall, Spring, and Summer Semesters. The student may claim the exemption at the time of registration by identifying himself/ herself as a member of the Louisiana National Guard and showing military identification card; eligibility will be verified against a list supplied to the University. All claims not made at the time of registration must be claimed at the Cashier’s Office by the 15th class day of the semester. Students placed on academic probation or suspension by McNeese State University are not eligible for the exemption while the probation or suspension is in effect. Students who do not qualify for exemption must pay tuition, fees, and special assessments at the time of registration.

An applicant who is declared a nonresident student for fee purposes may request that the Ad Hoc Residency Committee review the residency classification of the student. Waiver of the nonresident fee will be made only upon approval of the committee. If a student enrolls and pays a nonresident fee, there will be no exemption from paying the nonresident fee for subsequent semesters even though a Louisiana National Guard fee waiver has been acquired.

Special Assessments Included in Registration Fees

^ TOP

Special Assessments not specifically outlined by University of Louisiana policy but approved individually by the Board (Subject to change):

 

Hours: Credit or Non-Credit

UG: Undergraduate; G: Graduate

UG: Fall and Spring

G: Fall and Spring

Summer

Board Assessed Fees

0-6

7+

0-6

7+

0+

Building Use

$10

$10

$10

$10

$10

Academic Excellence*

$60

$120

$60

$90

$120

Academic Enhancement

$25

$25

$25

$25

$25

Operational Fee+

$32

$59

$32

$59

$59

University Assessed Fees

0-6

7+

0-6

7+

0+

Institutional Evaluation^

$5

$5

-

-

$5

Student Insurance

-

$8

-

$8

$7

Student Health Services

$30.75

$30.75

$30.75

$30.75

$13.50

Student Life

$25

$25

$25

$25

$10

Enrollment Services**

$15

$15

$15

$15

$15

Student Self-Assessed Fees

0-6

7+

0-6

7+

0+

Contraband (Newspaper)

$3

$3

$3

$3

-

Log (Yearbook)”

-

$15

-

$15

-

Student Government Association (SGA)

$5

$5

$5

$5

$3

Student Union Board (SUB)

$10

$10

$10

$10

$4

Debate

$4

$4

$4

$4

$4

Band

$8

$8

$8

$8

$5

MSU Theatre

$2

$2

$2

$2

$2

Rodeo

$4.50

$4.50

$4.50

$4.50

$4

Library

$15

$15

$15

$15

$15

H&PE Facilities

$30

$30

$30

$30

$30

Alumni

$1

$1

$1

$1

$0.50

Art

$1

$1

$1

$1

$1

Campus Development

$15

$15

$15

$15

$15

Organization Fee

$3

$3

$3

$3

$1

Spirit Groups (Cheerleaders)

$2.50

$2.50

$2.50

$2.50

$2

Safety

$2

$2

$2

$2

-

Choir

$1

$1

$1

$1

-

Athletic Field House

$32

$32

$32

$32

$10

tParking Garage
$75 $75 $75 $75 $75

Technology++

$30

$100

$30

$100

$100

Reference Chart Above

* = $10 per credit hour capped at $120 for undergraduate, $90 for graduate

** = Students enrolled for less than 4 hours pay $10.00 per semester

+ = 4 % of tuition and fees with a maximum of $59 at 12 hours

= Omit for spring semester

^ = Paid by all undergraduate students taking 4 or more hours

++ = $5 per credit or non-credit hour capped at $100 (20 hours)

  

Special Fees

Credit examination ($5 per credit hour)

$15

Chemistry laboratory deposit fee (per card)

$20

Chemistry “breakage fee” (refundable)

$10

ID replacement charge (name change, lost, or mutilated)

$10

College-by-Cassette: McNeese fee (per semester)

$5

Publisher’s license fee (per course)

$40

Web and off-campus compressed video courses (per credit hour)

$20

ENGR 350 or 450

$115

ENGR 550

$160

HHP 156 or 212

$100

Nursing Undergraduate Clinical Application Fee

$30

Nursing Undergraduate Lab Clinical Fee

$240

Nursing Graduate Clinical Course Fee

$40

Orientation Fee
$60

Physics

$10

Student Teaching Fee

$25

Late Registration Fee Fees

^ TOP

A late registration fee of $50.00 will be charged any student registering after the close of the regular registration period. First-time freshmen are exempted from the late registration fee during their first semester of attendance.

Fees for Extension Courses and other Off-Campus courses

^ TOP

Fees for extension courses and other off-campus course offerings (except for those with contractual arrangement) will be assessed in the same manner as for on-campus offerings.
 

Housing and Dining fees

^ TOP

Housing and dining fees are subject to change from year to year. See the Office of Student Services for the most current information about housing and dining charges. Housing rate information may also be obtained at the Office of Housing and Residence Life (corner of Beauregard Drive and Jefferson Davis Drive). Dining rate information may also be obtained at the Office of McNeese Dining and Catering (Student Services/Student Union Complex next to the McNeese Post Office).

Charges for dining plans are assessed to the student’s fee bill at the beginning of each semester of residence on the campus. All resident students are required to purchase a meal plan each semester in which they reside in campus housing.   Dining plans are not transferable to other persons.

Charges for housing are billed separately from the student’s fee bill and must be paid according to terms of lease agreements executed through the Office of Housing and Residence Life. Rent payments are typically due upon move-in and on the first day of each month of the lease term. Scholarship and financial aid funds may be used to pay for housing charges, but the student is responsible for ensuring arrangements are made for such payment between the University and the housing office at the beginning of each academic term.

Partial Tuition Exemption for Graduate Assistants

^ TOP

Qualified graduate students pursuing at least six hours of graduate work, enrolled in a graduate degree program, and in good academic standing may be eligible for a graduate assistantship. The graduate assistants who are employed through the McNeese Personnel Office are allowed credit for one-half of the tuition portion of their fees. This exemption will be granted only upon presentation of a properly completed graduate assistant fee exemption application at the time of registration. All approvals (signatures) must be obtained before the exemption will be allowed.

In addition, all graduate assistant fee exemptions must be claimed by the 14th class day. Any graduate assistant who resigns or is terminated after the end of late registration does not reimburse the institution for the pro-rated share of their exempted tuition; however, they are ineligible for future employment as a graduate assistant unless approved by the Graduate School dean.

Return Check Policy

^ TOP

If payment for fees or expenses is made by check, the student is urged to exercise care. When a check is returned by the student’s bank for any reason, a $25.00 service charge is assessed by the University. The student has 10 days after notice is mailed by the University to make reimbursement plus pay the service charge for the returned check. Reimbursement must be made by cash, money order, or cashier’s check. Failure to comply within the designated time may result in cancellation of the student’s registration or filing of the returned check with the District Attorney’s office if the check was for payment other than registration fees. The University will not accept a check from a student after one has been returned for any reason. All returned checks are subject to the $25.00 service charge. Personal checks not made payable to the University are not accepted.

Unauthorized Phone Call Policy

^ TOP

Any person placing unauthorized long distance telephone calls will be held responsible for restitution plus a service charge of $5.00 per call. This is a violation covered under the Code of Student Conduct.

Changes in Fees

^ TOP

Any increase or refund in fees is determined after the last date to register, add courses, make section changes, and change credit or noncredit classification. Students are expected to pay any increase in fees due to a change in the total number of hours scheduled or a correction of the fee assessment by the published deadline for the payment of fees.

Dropping Courses

^ TOP

Students dropping individual courses after the end of late registration do not receive registration refunds. The rules of refund for room rent, meal ticket costs, and student insurance are included under the appropriate sections of this catalog.

RESIGNING FROM THE UNIVERSITY

^ TOP

Refund Schedule for Registration Fees

The date that a student officially resigns from the University determines whether fees are refunded. The schedule refers to calendar days including weekends, beginning with the first day of classes as designated in the official University calendar. The refund policy and drop dates apply to off-campus courses as well as on-campus courses.

Fall and Spring Semesters

Through last day of late registration   100% minus $10.00
Through 14th day   80%
15th day through 21st day   60%
22nd day through 28th day   40%
29th day through 35th day   20%
36th day and later   None

Summer Session*

Through last day of late registration   100% minus $10.00
Through 7th day   80%
8th day through 10th day   60%
11th day through 14th day   40%
15th day through 17th day   20%
18th day and later   None

*Refunds for Term I and Term II summer sessions will be prorated accordingly.

For more information contact the Cashier’s Office

The institutional refund amount determined in the above manner will be credited in the following order:

1st   Unsubsidized Federal Stafford Loans
2nd   Federal Stafford Loans
3rd   Federal PLUS Loans
4th   Federal Perkins Loans
5th   Federal Pell Grant
6th   Federal SEOG
7th   State Grants and Scholarships (including SSIG)
8th   Institutional Scholarships

After the institutional refund has been credited in this order, any remaining amount will be returned to the student.

The rules of refund for room rent, meal ticket costs, and student insurance are included under the appropriate sections of this catalog.

 

Late registration fee, if paid, will not be refunded

^ TOP

The University will be unable to provide fee refunds for at least four to eight weeks following the first day of classes during the fall and spring semesters and from two to four weeks during the summer session.

Chemistry Laboratory Fee Refund Deadline

^ TOP

The deadline to collect a refund of the chemistry laboratory deposit fee for the fall and spring semesters is 4:00 p. m. on the last day of the semester. For the summer session, the breakage fee is returnable for five days after the official close of the session. Special course/lab fees are not covered under this policy.

Military Service Refund

^ TOP

Voluntary Enlistment. Students in good standing who volunteer for active duty with the Armed Services and resign from the University before the day deemed as mid-semester will have tuition and fees, and if applicable, the nonresident fee refunded in full exclusive of student insurance fees and other non-refundable fees. After midsemester, only 50 percent of the tuition and fees, excluding student insurance fees and other non-refundable fees, will be refunded. Documentary proof establishing voluntary enlistment will be required before tuition and fees are refunded.

Involuntary Activation. Students in good standing who are involuntary activated with the Armed Services and resign from the University by the last day to resign or withdraw from classes with a grade or “W” will have tuition and fees refunded in full exclusive of student insurance fees and other non-refundable fees. Official military orders indicating activation are required and must be supplied to the Office of the Registrar. After the last day to resign or withdraw from classes with a grade of “W”, additional options are available to students. The McNeese policy is in accordance with the Board of Regents and University of Louisiana System policies. Students should contact the Office of the Registrar for more information.

Textbooks and Supplies

^ TOP

The cost of books and supplies varies, depending on the number of hours carried and courses pursued. The textbooks used at McNeese State University and all necessary school supplies are available for purchase at the campus bookstore.

Student Accident and Life Insurance

^ TOP

The student government has proposed and the University administration has adopted an accident and hospitalization insurance requirement for every student who is enrolled for 7 or more semester hours. The insurance premium (approximately $8 per semester) is included in the student-assessed fees. Applications for refunds and other information can be obtained by contacting the Office of Student Services. Students whose primary health care services are provided through publicly-funded systems, such as the LSU Health System or “charity” system, may wish to opt out of the student accident and life insurance plan in order to maintain eligibility in their existing healthcare program. Contact the Office of Student Services to make written request to opt out prior to the official reporting day during each academic semester (fourteenth class day in fall and spring terms; seventh class day in summer term). Requests to opt out must be made prior to the official reporting day of each academic semester.

International students. In addition to the accident and hospitalization insurance required by McNeese for all students enrolled in seven or more semester hours, international students on F and J visas are required to purchase through the university additional insurance for themselves and their dependents. The comprehensive medical insurance covers medical expenses up to $50,000, includes medical evacuation and repatriation expenses, and is underwritten by an American-based company. The insurance premium, which is subject to change, is approximately $300 per year and is assessed as part of the student fees. If, prior to enrolling at McNeese, an international student has a comprehensive medical insurance that is underwritten by an American-based company and is comparable to the insurance offered through the university, a waiver for this requirement may be requested through the International Student Affairs Officer. See the International Student Affairs Officer for more information about the insurance.

 

Hardship Waiver

^ TOP

McNeese and the Legislature are concerned about students who may be faced with financial difficulties as a result of the recent increases in the cost of tuition and fees. To assist its students, McNeese has made financial hardship waivers available to help needy students with increased tuition costs. The maximum value of the hardship fee waiver is $200 per semester for students who qualify.

The following criteria have been established by McNeese State University for determining students who will qualify for the hardship fee waiver. A student must meet all of these criteria to qualify:

  • The cashier’s office must have received a completed Financial Hardship fee waiver application by the 28th day of the semester for which the waiver is being requested.
  • The student must be a Louisiana resident as defined by the Registrar’s Office.
  • The student must be enrolled as a full-time undergraduate student (12 or more credit hours) on the 28th day of the semester for which the waiver is being requested.
  • The student must be qualified for and receiving a Federal Pell Grant with an Expected Family Contribution (EFC) of zero as determined by completing the Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA).
  • The student must have a cumulative GPA of 2.0 or higher.The student must not have received any institutional/foundation scholarships, third party contracts, or fee waiver/tuition exemptions.

Hardship fee waiver application forms can be found at http://www.mcneese.edu/ba. If you think you meet the above criteria, we encourage you to complete and submit this form to the McNeese State University Cashier’s Office in Smith Hall (in person, via fax to 337-475-5383 or by mail to McNeese Administrative Accounting, Box 92935, Lake Charles, LA 70609) by the 28th day of the semester. We look forward to seeing you at McNeese State University.

Student Employment

^ TOP

Derek Fontenot, Administrator

The Office of Student Employment provides qualified students part-time job opportunities to enhance job-seeking skills, gain work experience, and defray college expenses. Student employment gives students opportunities to interact in a global community and prepare for the job market.